Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 23-Feb-2015
Pros: CLEAN
Cons: ICE MACHINE, WORK OUT ROOM
NICE HOTEL, CLEAN ROOM. VERY NICE AREA OF CITY WOULD COME AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Bad experience

Posted 17-Feb-2015
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Everything and mostly the cleanliness.
Location: Did not get to do anything but I noticed a tj max near by.
We got to the hotel and the first room they gave us was not clean: towels on the floor , dirty counters and filthy floor. We got another room not as bad but not clean either: dirty floors and no shampoo or conditioner, one soap and no garbage can in the bathroom. We suppose to have a coffee maker in the room also but no luck there either. We went to the front desk and they promised one soon. 2 hours later and no coffee machine!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

A good place to stay if all you need is lodging.

Posted 01-Feb-2015
This hotel offered only breakfast on the run, but since we had a kitchen we could buy and prepare our own. After three requests, we were given the dishes and pans needed to cook a little. The hotel was quiet and clean. The manager was very nice at check-out, though the other employees seemed lackadaisical and not very professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom roseville, ca

Best price in the area

Posted 01-Dec-2014
Wall mounted heating unit was leaking outside cold freezing air to inside of room
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Dec-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay, but I am also sorry to hear that the heat unit was not putting out warm air as you would expect. Please be advised I will be having the units in all the rooms checked to insure they are all working properly. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Tonyfrom Rochester Hills

Joshen Vendor Show

Posted 19-Nov-2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean customer service was good. No real breakfast so fail on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Jan-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you found our hotel clean and that the staff here took care of you. Still, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback on this matter will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

I very much enjoyed my stay at Extended Stay.

Posted 15-Nov-2014
Pros: Clean, easy and comfortable.
Cons: Hard, scratchy wash cloths.
Location: Beachwood is a great area with tons of restaurants and shopping!
I had no problems at all at Extended Stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. The to go breakfast was easy, fast and tasty. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Natalie - Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable and clean. Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our guests and will appreciate your comments when I share them. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Anitafrom Lakewood, OH

Outdated, dirty room.

Posted 11-Nov-2014 on Hotels.com
Initial room was dirty and had a bad odor. Door would not close so was moved to another room which was better but the hotel needs to be updated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Bloomfieldfrom Tucson,AZ

Quiet

Posted 25-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
No grab bars in shower No room makeup daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your room did not have a grab bar in the shower. We do however have handicap rooms that have them, which would be available upon request. As well, I am sorry that our standard housekeeping policy did not meet your needs. We do have the option for daily housekeeping service for a nominal fee. I apologize you were not made aware of this option, and I will be working with my front desk staff to ensure that we are properly informing guests of this upon check-in moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Ohio

Dated stinky bad

Posted 25-Oct-2014
Pros: Leaving it.
Stay away from here. Needs updating. Smelled of cigarette smoke. Put us in a room full of dirty rags,
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Oct-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apology for the smell of smoke and the cleanliness of your room. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have discussed your comments with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 24-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com